How to Delete Yourself from the Internet


In case you find that your personal detail is displaying on the Internet, then delete the data immediately by requesting the webmaster. Some of your information remains the same on the internet after deleting from the search results and if you want to know how to delete yourself from the internet, then you need to follow the given instructions.

Remove Personal Website

In case you are the working on any website and find your personal detail in that website, then you can delete the detail from the home pages or remove the home page or site completely.

 In case you have a habit of keeping the details on your internet browser but you don’t wish search results for finding your personal detail, then you have to secure your password or use the “robot.txt” file to block search results.

As you all know keeping the personal data online is not safe so it is a good idea to remove your personal data from the search results. You should not click on the “Remember the password” option in your default browser while logging into your social networking accounts.

Removing Social Networking Website Data

If you have an account on social media sites such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc, then you can select which personal detail you want to show to the followers. You can change the settings by going to the “Privacy” option located in the settings application. But all the personal detail cannot be hidden, some of the detail will show on the social networking site or that details will be displayed later on.

Remove Your Details From Other Websites

If you had logged in to your social networking site earlier on someone else’s system, then you will find that your account or password information is get saved on someone’s system.

There can be a possibility that the person can misuse your account by logging with the saved password. If you wish to delete the detail from that person system, then you have to request the webmaster of the website to delete the personal detail from other people computer.

Clear Your Browsing History

When you search anything on your default browser it contains your personal detail. The personal detail gets saved on the browsing history when you enter them in online websites.

This personal information includes the credit or debit card number, password, phone number, signatures images, etc. you should delete your browsing history every month so that you can secure all the personal data.

Use a Do Not Track Feature

While downloading any antivirus software on your system you can secure your personal data by stopping it from not tracking your online activities. If you install any antivirus on your system, then you can do anything on the internet without worrying about the security of your personal data.

If there is no antivirus installed on your system, then there is a possibility that the theives will steal the details you had entered online. The antivirus software makes sure that sites and browsing application don’t track and save your personal detail.

Edward Lewis is a self-professed security expert; he has been making the people aware of the security threats. His passion is to write about Cyber security, cryptography, malware, social engineering, internet and new media. He writes for Norton security products at norton.com/setup